San Fermin – Sonsick

My friend Paige sent me this playlist the other day. I listened to it while I relaxed last night after teaching back-to-back hot classes & stumbled across this song. I like the lyrics a lot:

I found me a hopeless case & resolved to love
Maybe we can find a decent place when I’m old enough
Found love in an empty gaze, tried to fix it up
I found me a hopeless case, ohhhh

I’ll fall for you soon enough, I resolve to love
Now I know it’s just another fuck ’cause I’m old enough
Sell lies like they’re only drugs, here to pick me up
I’ll fall for you soon enough, ohhhh

It’s always a little thrilling to me when a song starts off with a cool, sweet female voice cooing pretty words before catching you off-guard with an obscenity so neatly folded in that you’ve got to listen twice to be sure you heard that right. This might have something to do with my own internally inconsistent speaking patterns.

I also take comfort in the repetitive way the verse lyrics are recycled throughout the song & the rhymes circle back to speak to each other. The words capture the clean-slated & hopeful nature of the child-minds we all start off with in this world, but seem below the surface to question whether the things most of us grow up wanting even make us happy.

And to think, I loved all of these things about this song before watching the music video, which involves a girl throwing her pug dog a birthday party.

Oh, yes. Some things are just meant to be.

About Christina

Milwaukee-based bon vivant. Lover of food, yoga, design, good words & loving kindness.
This entry was posted in Feminism, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

